Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies, King Arthur Chocolate Chip Cookies, Graham Chocolate Chip Cookies, S’more Sandwich Cookies, 5×5 Chocolate Cake, Chocolate Chip Cookie Mini Cheesecakes, and Samoa Mini Cheesecakes

Does It Make a Difference?

I go back and forth between wanting to use high quality ingredients and cheaper ingredients.  Usually it’s in regard to chocolate chips.  Should I use Nestle or Ghiradelli or Kroger-brand?  I don’t think my family can tell the difference, but they are more gourmands than gourmets!  Today I switched to King Arthur Flour.  Seemed like good timing to try to King Arthur cookie recipe!

What Did I Make?

A ton!  I am catering a lunch for some new teachers today.  Surely something turned out okay.  I was planning mini cheesecakes.  I was going to remake the chocolate ones from yesterday, but where’s the fun in that?  So I made Chocolate Chip Cookie Mini Cheesecakes by Crazy for Crust and Samoa Mini Cheesecakes from The Recipe Critic.  I also put together the 6” chocolate cheesecake and the chocolate cakes I have been saving.  I used Sally’s donut glaze between the layers and her buttercream on top.  I’m calling this the 5×5 Chocolate Cake.  Finally, I baked three kinds of chocolate chip cookies – Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies (our usual), King Arthur Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies posted by Something Swanky, Graham Chocolate Chip Cookies by Buns in My Oven.  The last ones I made into sandwiches with chocolate icing and marshmallow fluff.  Whew!

How Did It Go?

Some good, some bad as expected.

Don’t know about taste yet, but I liked how Samoa Mini Cheesecakes from The Recipe Critic came out more than how Chocolate Chip Cookie Mini Cheesecakes by Crazy for Crust came out.  Everything went perfect with the former.  For the latter, I thought there was too much butter in the crust recipe, and I baked them for 25 minutes, and they still fell.

https://therecipecritic.com/2014/03/mini-samoas-cheescake/

IMG_1232

http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2014/12/chocolate-chip-cookie-cheesecakes/

IMG_1234

Update – I stand corrected!  After cooling and decorating, the chocolate Chip cookie Mini Cheesecakes came our perfect – just like the pictures on the website.  I should trust Crazy!  (BTW, I have asked this blogger questions in the past, and she always responds promptly and is so nice.)  The Samoa Mini Cheesecakes were great too.

 

The 5×5 chocolate cake came out awesome!  This is a dessert for dinner so check back to see if it tastes awesome as well.

IMG_1227

Okay, on to cookies!  Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies (our usual) came out fabulous despite using dough from the fridge.  King Arthur Chocolate Chip Cookies came out well, but the taste couldn’t compete with Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Surprisingly, the Graham Chocolate Chip Cookies were really good.  The sandwiches were kind of a good idea, but the marshmallow fluff didn’t hold them together.  Bummer!  Still really tasty, although not that much better than just the cookies by themselves.

King Arthur…

http://www.somethingswanky.com/king-arthur-flour-chocolate-chip-cookies/

IMG_1228

Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies and my big mess…

http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/chocolate-chip-graham-cracker-cookies/

IMG_1229

 

IMG_1231

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies…

http://thedomesticrebel.com/2016/05/06/the-best-ultimate-chocolate-chip-cookies/

IMG_1230

 

Leave a Reply

