Chocolate Cheesecake and Nana’s Famous Fudge Brownies

Loving Mondays 

Most people hate Mondays but not me!  Mondays mean routine; Mondays mean people have things to do; Mondays mean better news and podcasts; Mondays mean hubs has to go to work.  My older kids don’t really have anything special this week, but next week school starts.  Then all our lives will be different.  Last year I had a sophomore and a senior taking four on campus classes.  This year, one goes off to college, and the other is taking 5 on-campus classes.  So whereas last year they were here for lunch a lot, this year I will be alone much of the day.  Good or bad?

What Did I Make Today?

Nothing that I could put out and photograph.  That’s unusual!  I made Chocolate Cheesecake from the Homemade Hoopla site.  Then I made Nana’s Famous Fudge Brownies from The Food Charleton, and my own version which I think I will call Nana’s Heath Bar Frosted Brownies.

How Did It Go?

Some ups, some downs.  The Chocolate Cheesecake from the Homemade Hoopla site is a thumbs up as far as baking is concerned.  I did half the recipe which gave me a 6” cheesecake, and 6 mini cheesecakes which I baked in a muffin tin with an oreo on the bottom.  The 6” is to go in the 5×5 chocolate cake I am planning for tomorrow.  Today’s big question was how to top these little ones.  I couldn’t go with whipped cream because I won’t be serving tomorrow’s batch right before they are eaten.  I tried chocolate frosting, hot fudge, and chocolate glaze.  The latter was by far the best.  It was actually the glaze from Sally’s donut recipe I made a few days ago.  Perfect!

https://homemadehooplah.com/chocolate-cheesecake/

https://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/04/25/chocolate-frosted-donuts/

IMG_1221

Nana’s brownies did not go quite as well.  I think I overbaked the regular batch (in a metal pan).  I did follow the directions exactly for these.  The second batch (with a half cup Heath bits) I baked in a glass pan for the same amount of time, and those may be a bit underbaked.  The fudge topping could be good if it actually hardens up.  Here’s hoping!  I made Easy Chocolate Frosting for the Health batch.  I can’t find the pin, but the recipe was not right!!  I ended up with 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup chocolate powder, 1/3 cup cream, 2 cups powdered sugar, and 1/8 tsp salt.  This is pretty close to the Hershey’s chocolate frosting recipe, so I think it would have been fine, but I tried to spread it on the brownies WAY too early.  Ugh.  Still could taste okay, I guess.

http://thefoodcharlatan.com/2017/02/21/nanas-famous-fudge-brownies-recipe/

The result – diaster.  I did not overbake the first batch, but that is the only good news.  The fudge never solidified, and the second batch never sat up enough to even cut.  Had to go right in the trash!

Leave a Reply

